top of page

Dear Mother in-law,

I see things differently now. I remember the day I met you, terrified beyond belief.

Who wouldn't be? After all, I met your son, fell head over heals, and all of the sudden, I am in your living room. You had no choice in this, you had to trust that he would make a good decision. You had no idea who I was, where I came from, or what my intentions were.

After a whopping two and a half weeks, my roommate situation was a flop, and I moved all of my things into your house. You must have been out of your mind! Looking back now, I just think....WHO DOES THAT? Let's some random girl your son brings home, move in with your family?!?!


So many things through the years play such a big part in where we are today. The good times, the bad, the love, the disagreements, the vacations, the milestones, and all of the changes.


I see why you questioned things, I see why you were so protective, I see why you wanted to be involved. I see you now. Having a son has taught me a love I could have never imagined.

I see you love your son with every breath you have. I see you hug him every time he leaves, I see you cry as you drive away. I see you. I see things differently now. I see the way I treated you before, I never understood why you couldn't let go. You always wanted what was best for him, but for the longest time, I never felt like I was good enough. I see things differently now.


I see the way you take pride in his accomplishments, I see the way you encourage him, I see the way you talk him through things. I see you as his mom. For the longest time, I saw you as a threat. This wasn't a competition for who could love him more. It took me a long time to realize it wasn't you I needed to block out. It was my thoughts, my feelings, my own mind. I was my own enemy. At the end of the day, I wanted him to choose me, and only me.


I see things differently now. We both have our places in his life. We have found out what makes us all work better together. I am thankful for our relationship. I am thankful for you.


I hope my son looks at me, the way yours looks at you. I hope that my son always finds a place for me in his life, and I hope that he will always love me like yours love you, no matter the circumstances.

I never imagined I would end up being a boy mom, and you being a boy nana, but here we are. The next chapter has begun where we get to learn, yet another kind of love together.

I see you.

I love you.




388 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rookie mom life.

Let's get to it, no matter what you read, or the advice given, you literally have no clue what the hell you are doing. Thankfully the...

Commenti


bottom of page